A BA In English

9 01 2008

What do you do with a B.A. in English,
What is my life going to be?
Four years of college and plenty of knowledge,
Have earned me this useless degree.

I can’t pay the bills yet,
‘Cause I have no skills yet,
The world is a big scary place.

But somehow I can’t shake,
The feeling I might make,
A difference,
To the human race.

Boy, what a fitting song. I’ve been looking for future jobs with just a BA in English, and the results are borderline depressing. :-/ Paralegal certificate, here I come.

Larry thinks I’d make a great librarian. That would mean a few more years getting my MA in library science. Sounds good until you mention more schoolin’. I’m a burn out… but it is my last semester. Then I can try to get a real job instead of work-study. Let’s just hope said real job isn’t doing something I hate. *le sigh* I’m not feeling very hopeful at the moment, as you can tell.

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 01 2008
wildwoodflwr

This when you abandon your major for a career in the fiber arts. Make stuff and sell it on ebay. It is my highest aspiration for my degree.

11 01 2008
jannedoe

lol I doubt mine even goes that hight. I just like telling people about books. GOOD books, not frumpy literature.

Leave a Reply

