Oh New Love

18 03 2008

I’ve fallen in love (again) with looking at crochet patterns. My completion of two hats–one for Raquel and one for Bun-Bun–have boosted my confidence. Now I’m looking at yarn for this pattern I found for a beginner’s baby blanket. It ought to be easy enough. ^_^ I’m going to make it for my new niece-or-nephew, and I’ll probably make more for my other nieces and nephew.

*happy dance*

I’m really understanding Haley’s yarn obsession. I’m on Lion Brand right now, comparing yarn and yarn prices. At the moment, Peaches & Cream seems a lot more likely. Lion Brand likes to sneak acrylic in there, and I–being the obsessive aunt I am–wouldn’t sleep at night if there was an ounce of plastic in their blankies. Cotton it is, all the way.

Hmmm, I should check out that Peaches & Cream website… if they have one. I bet they have far more color choices there than at Wal-Mart. Then I can get the store to order the colors I want instead of setteling for what’s in stock. ^_^

*happy dance*

Actions

Information

6 responses

18 03 2008
wildwoodflwr

*evil laugh* before you know it, all of the underneath of your bed will be full of yarn, you’ll be stuffing it down sweater sleeves for extra storage! My evil but warm plan is nearly complete.Also, the peaches and cream is a good yarn but it’s a non-mercerized cotton. That makes it rough. Red Heart has a mercerized cotton that’s a little lighter and shinier. It should be on the wall with the other redheart stuff at wal-mart. At least, it’s at the 15 wal-marts within a 20 minute drive from huntington. Just look for “carefree cotton”. And remember, cotton is heavy. I have to get your hands on some cashmere or pure alpaca. You will never turn back. :-PLion Brand website has pretty good prices. But if you can get to a michaels, hobby lobby, or an a.c. moore, they will have the lion brand for a little cheaper. Oh.. and check ebay. Sometimes people put up big lots of yarn.

18 03 2008
wildwoodflwr

*evil laugh* before you know it, all of the underneath of your bed will be full of yarn, you’ll be stuffing it down sweater sleeves for extra storage! My evil but warm plan is nearly complete.Also, the peaches and cream is a good yarn but it’s a non-mercerized cotton. That makes it rough. Red Heart has a mercerized cotton that’s a little lighter and shinier. It should be on the wall with the other redheart stuff at wal-mart. At least, it’s at the 15 wal-marts within a 20 minute drive from huntington. Just look for “carefree cotton”. And remember, cotton is heavy. I have to get your hands on some cashmere or pure alpaca. You will never turn back. :-PLion Brand website has pretty good prices. But if you can get to a michaels, hobby lobby, or an a.c. moore, they will have the lion brand for a little cheaper. Oh.. and check ebay. Sometimes people put up big lots of yarn.

18 03 2008
wildwoodflwr

I forgot to say that cotton is heavier especially in crochet. If you knit a 4 inch square and crochet a 4 inch square, the crochet square will contain 3x the yarn as the knit one. It’s just the nature of crochet. So crochet cotton can be heavy. And there’s not much elasticity in cotton, so it can be hard on the hands to work with. I have a very loose tension when I crochet or knit so I haven’t had a problem with that. But if you hold the yarn tight, the cotton could hurt.I’m not trying to turn you away from cotton, I just get excited. πŸ˜›

18 03 2008
wildwoodflwr

I forgot to say that cotton is heavier especially in crochet. If you knit a 4 inch square and crochet a 4 inch square, the crochet square will contain 3x the yarn as the knit one. It’s just the nature of crochet. So crochet cotton can be heavy. And there’s not much elasticity in cotton, so it can be hard on the hands to work with. I have a very loose tension when I crochet or knit so I haven’t had a problem with that. But if you hold the yarn tight, the cotton could hurt.I’m not trying to turn you away from cotton, I just get excited. πŸ˜›

18 03 2008
the swashbuckling gwendolyn smythe

don’t touch the pure alpaca! not only will you never turn back, you will completely broke. Forever. Unless you start your own alpaca farm. And if you do that, I totally want in. Halfzies!

18 03 2008
the swashbuckling gwendolyn smythe

don’t touch the pure alpaca! not only will you never turn back, you will completely broke. Forever. Unless you start your own alpaca farm. And if you do that, I totally want in. Halfzies!

Leave a Reply

