Sick Day

26 03 2008

My sore throat is now accompanied by a cold I caught from Bubby & Chrissy. I missed school today because I was hacking all night. Very yarg, but I did spend quality time with my yarn and cats.

I did not know Cringer had a thing for cotton yarn. He won’t touch the wool or acrylic. The second I whip out the cotton, though, he’s all over it. Weird cat…

After trying off and on all day, I’ve realized that I can’t remember the way I made Raquel’s sassy hat. *sadness* I keep stitching and stitching, then tearing it apart (frogging?) because it won’t form the “pizza” top. It makes a bowl… or a cup, rather. Very annoying.

I dunno. When I started with the wool, it was like Michelangelo said… I saw what it was and brought it out. I saw a hat, so I made a hat. Making another one is proving to be quite difficult. I see a pattern in my near future.

Ugh, wish I’d stop hacking!!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 03 2008
wildwoodflwr

To make the crown of your hat flat (like a pizza) you have to increase evenly on each round, making it expand outwards instead of downwards. When you don’t increase evenly or enough, it starts to form a cup or a bowl. So, starting out you should probably do 2 stictches in each stitch on the first round. And also on the second round. Then on the 3rd round, put one stitch in the first stitch, two stitches in the second stitch, one stitch in the third, etc until you get back to the beginning of your round.On each consecutive round put more stitches inbetween the 2 stitches to one stitch. In other words, after the round of 1 stitch, 2 stitches, you would do a round of 1 stitch in 1 stitch, 1 stitch in 1 stitch, 2 stitches in 1 stitch. Then when you think the crown is big enough (it always seems small to me), stop doing the 2 stitches in 1 stitch and do only 1 stitch in 1 stitch. I hope that was clear. As my 6th grade teacher said (a lot), it’s as clear as mud.

26 03 2008
wildwoodflwr

To make the crown of your hat flat (like a pizza) you have to increase evenly on each round, making it expand outwards instead of downwards. When you don’t increase evenly or enough, it starts to form a cup or a bowl. So, starting out you should probably do 2 stictches in each stitch on the first round. And also on the second round. Then on the 3rd round, put one stitch in the first stitch, two stitches in the second stitch, one stitch in the third, etc until you get back to the beginning of your round.On each consecutive round put more stitches inbetween the 2 stitches to one stitch. In other words, after the round of 1 stitch, 2 stitches, you would do a round of 1 stitch in 1 stitch, 1 stitch in 1 stitch, 2 stitches in 1 stitch. Then when you think the crown is big enough (it always seems small to me), stop doing the 2 stitches in 1 stitch and do only 1 stitch in 1 stitch. I hope that was clear. As my 6th grade teacher said (a lot), it’s as clear as mud.

Leave a Reply

