Learning Something New

14 05 2008

Wow… I love it when I come across a new bit of fascinating information.

I have sensitive skin. It seems like some days, the least little thing will break me out whether it’s clothes, lotion, shampoo, or even some types of yarn. Red Heart is especially terrible for breaking my poor fingers out in terrible rashes. And what did I get as a graduation present? Three huge skeins of some beautifully colored Red Heart yarn.

Since making it into clothing or other wearable items isn’t really an option (it’s itchy), I decided to make an awesome tote out of it. I found a pattern and everything, but I’ve hesitated getting started because I know my poor fingers won’t last an hour before they break out. Then this morning while surfing through one of my Ravelry groups, someone mentioned their own skin issues and solution.

Bandaids on your fingers!

So simple, yet it’s perfect! My fingertips don’t break out (only on one occasion ever, but it wasn’t yarn related), so I could put a bandaid or surgical tape like another gal does and protect my fingers from the yarn. It’ll be a bit annoying, but I’d rather have tape than a rash.

I feel edumacated.

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 05 2008
wildwoodflwr

Clever! A tote bag is a grea idea for that yarn. That kind of acrylic is sturdy!My skin is also sensitive but I’ve not come across a yarn yet that really irritates my hands. My joints begin to ache when I work with the lighter yarns but that may be an age issue lol.

14 05 2008
wildwoodflwr

Clever! A tote bag is a grea idea for that yarn. That kind of acrylic is sturdy!My skin is also sensitive but I’ve not come across a yarn yet that really irritates my hands. My joints begin to ache when I work with the lighter yarns but that may be an age issue lol.

Leave a Reply

