Sweeney Love

21 05 2008

That Johnny Depp musical, “Sweeney Todd” has been on the movie channels for a few days now. I don’t care much for the movie, but I do love the music… and I’ve got a terrible crush on Helena Bonham Carter. I’ve seen it four-going-on-five times, and two-and-a-half of those times were today. I’ve also downloaded most of the soundtrack.

Don’t worry, this isn’t spoiler-ish if you haven’t seen the movie yet.

*le sigh* Too bad Johnny sounds like a bass-turned-tenor. He doesn’t sing in this segment, but later they do a duet together (part of the Finale) where he really lets loose and damn… I wish it wasn’t so short. They do all kinds of duets and that one is my favotite. “A Little Priest” was good, too, especially the choreography (love the symbolisim).

I is pleased.

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 05 2008
the swashbuckling gwendolyn smythe

Ahhhh… perhaps if I watched it 5 times it would grow on me. I’ve never cared for the score of Sweeny Todd. I like “Johanna” and “Not While I’m Around”…. and that is all. Really, that’s all. However, I do think the movie is brilliantly cast, flawlessly done… Man, if Tim Burton, Johnny Depp, Helen Carter, Alan Rickman can’t make me love Sweeney Todd, then it simply can not be done.

22 05 2008
the swashbuckling gwendolyn smythe

Ahhhh… perhaps if I watched it 5 times it would grow on me. I’ve never cared for the score of Sweeny Todd. I like “Johanna” and “Not While I’m Around”…. and that is all. Really, that’s all. However, I do think the movie is brilliantly cast, flawlessly done… Man, if Tim Burton, Johnny Depp, Helen Carter, Alan Rickman can’t make me love Sweeney Todd, then it simply can not be done.

22 05 2008
wildwoodflwr

Have never seen Sweeney Todd in any incarnation. So uh… Johnny Depp, Alan Rickman, Helena Bonham Carter, and Tim Burton are like.. the cast of my dreams. So I’m afraid to watch this since it seems to be kinda “eh.”

22 05 2008
wildwoodflwr

Have never seen Sweeney Todd in any incarnation. So uh… Johnny Depp, Alan Rickman, Helena Bonham Carter, and Tim Burton are like.. the cast of my dreams. So I’m afraid to watch this since it seems to be kinda “eh.”

Leave a Reply

