Teach a Gal to Crochet…

22 05 2008

I’m telling you, learning to crochet has been perhaps the single most amazing thing I’ve had come into my life in a long while. It’s excellent therapy for me when I’m stressed or upset. With the drama with particular family members that’s been going on the last couple of weeks, it’s been a godsend, to say the least.

I originally thought my bag would take quite some time to make. At the rate I’m going, it will be done before the weekend is through. I’ve finished the back side and flap. Last night, I started the sides/bottom. Still have a way to go, naturally, but it looks good so far.

Thank goodness for the small things in life, huh?

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 05 2008
wildwoodflwr

Exactly my friend. Exactly. If you become too bummed to crochet, that’s when you know it’s time to seek help. 😛 It’s as though the busy hands give the busy/frustrated brain something to focus on and help you to calm down. Also, I know knitting is in the top list of things that helps to prevent Alzheimer’s, I bet crochet is there too. So you have cheap therapy, alzheimer’s preventative, joint exercises for your hands, and at the end you get something pretty. What more could a person ask for?

23 05 2008
wildwoodflwr

Exactly my friend. Exactly. If you become too bummed to crochet, that’s when you know it’s time to seek help. 😛 It’s as though the busy hands give the busy/frustrated brain something to focus on and help you to calm down. Also, I know knitting is in the top list of things that helps to prevent Alzheimer’s, I bet crochet is there too. So you have cheap therapy, alzheimer’s preventative, joint exercises for your hands, and at the end you get something pretty. What more could a person ask for?

Leave a Reply

