Origins of Pwn

29 05 2008

Pwn (pown) verb

The internet word “pwn” originated back in the era when every gamer and their little brother played Starcraft (before the days of World of Warcraft, also by Blizzard). Players began using the word “owned” or “ownd” after battles, such as “You just got ownd!” (you just got your ass handed to you) or “I own by default!” (I kick ass by default).

During intense moments of excitement, the misspelling of “own” happened more and more frequently as “pwn” due to the location of the letter P next to the letter O. Eventually, this misspelling became so common, gamers have simply adapted to the word and began using it instead of the original word.

The word has become so popular, it can even be heard on some popular telivision shows, namely the episode of South Park entitled “Make Love, Not Warcraft” when Cartman is about to defeat an enemy who has plagued them throughout the episode. “You’re about to get pwnd,” he says, meaning, “I am about to defeat you.”

Outside gaming uses for the word “pwn”:

1) This hook pwns by default = There is no equal to this hook because it rocks that much.
2) That math test pwnd me = That math test was super hard, so I doubt I did very well.
3) I just pwnd that pile of dishes = I finally got around to washing the dishes I’d been dreading and finished the job.

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 05 2008
wildwoodflwr

I still think “totally awesome to the max” is an acceptable synonym.Also, more people need to say “totally awesome to the max” in their daily life.

29 05 2008
the swashbuckling gwendolyn smythe

haha!thank you girls. I am now savvy enough to go chatting.Also, I’m inventing my own internet speech thing. TAM. Totally Awesome to the Max.Wow, I am so TAM.

29 05 2008
the swashbuckling gwendolyn smythe

haha!thank you girls. I am now savvy enough to go chatting.Also, I’m inventing my own internet speech thing. TAM. Totally Awesome to the Max.Wow, I am so TAM.

Leave a Reply

