A Chance at Completion?

21 07 2008

I’m about a row away from technically completing my Bag of Chance. I say “technically” because we haven’t had time to sit down and figure out how to make it hold its shape yet. But I reckon sometime tomorrow, I’ll have the last of it crocheted and assembled. I’ll take and post some pictures when I do so you guys can hit me with suggestions.

I really wish it’d been wool yarn so I could felt it… but it’s acrylic. Plus it was a gift (and in an irresistible mix of colors!), so I can’t gripe too much. Right now, I think we’re going to attempt starching it, whenever we get around to going out and getting some.

With the end of this project in sight, I wonder what I’ll start next. *ponders* Since I’m not sure about the fate of my purple superwash wool, I may make that shawl I’ve been wanting. There’s one in the book Adrielle got me that’s sooooooo beautiful and I want very much badly. ❤ I also have a pattern (and the yarn) for a pretty cotton apron. I dunno if I’m ready to tackle that yet, though.

Earlier, I was admiring my BBQ Swap yarn and noticed how thin it is. Fingering weight, I’m guessing, which terrifies me in a way… I’ve only used worsted weight thus far. I’m scared to death I’ll tangle it and knot it up beyond repair. 😦

I still need to go get that yarn I drooled over at Wal-Mart. It was so pretty, gals, I kid you not. It’s my first yarn love. I mean, I’ve seen and admired lots of yarn, but none has made me go absolutely gaga like this has. It will be a beautiful scarf for me… granted, it won’t be like my perfect scarf, but it will be a damn close second. Mmmmm, pretty yarn! My poor stash is over-flowing now with books, yarn, magazines, and projects. I will need a new stash box soon.

What’s sad, though, is that I want a sewing machine for Christmas. I plan on taking up quilting. See, both my grandmothers were quilters, as were the women before them. My mom was not, nor are my aunts. It makes me so very sad to think the line will just come to a hault after all those years, so even if it’s just patchwork quilts, I want to take it up and continue the line. Besides, have you guys seen the beautiful fleece fabrics Wal-Mart carries? The fabrics in general?! *luffles* I have long since admired their walls/aisles/etc. of fabrics, but never had the money to get a sewing machine. Now I can, so now I will!

*happy dance*

It’s hard to believe that I once had no desire for such domestic activities. Thankfully, I have grown up and changed greatly. Now I won’t miss another second of these awesome crafts!

Actions

Information

One response

21 07 2008
wildwoodflwr

Yay Crafts!!!!! 😛 I’ve never quilted with a machine only by hand. I can’t wait for pictures!

Leave a Reply

