Shawl In Progress

27 07 2008

I’m on row 6 of my 140 row shawl. I honestly had no idea what I was getting myself into… but I can’t really complain at all. I kinda like having a project to work on at my leisure without any rush to complete it. The pattern is shockingly simple, but the gauge is so tiny that it takes me a long time to finish a row. I wish I had a picture to show you what it will eventually look like… it’s got such tiny, tiny chains in it that make it very net-like.

The Squoosh lady said my yarn should be dyed sometime this week. I’m very excited. She’s really nice to do business with. 🙂 She has some beautiful yarn up for sale that I am positively drooling over. It’s in a color called “green apple” and sooooo beautiful! If I could knit, I would want green apple socks.

Question… what on earth are you supposed to do with a hank of yarn you’re working on? I began using mine and it’s the biggest pain to keep from tangling. I have to lay it carefully across my lap as I work, then I have to carefully twist it back into a hank-like shape before I put it back in my stash. I can’t take this project anywhere because of it. O_o Maybe if I put it in my hobo bag? I’d still be worried about it getting tangled.

I wonder what yarn ball rollers run for? I may ask for one of those (plus a sewing machine) for Christmas. *Googles it* Hmmmm, we’re looking at a $33-50 range here… I guess that’s not too bad.

Bleah, I’m sleepy. It’s been a long weekend.

Actions

Information

One response

28 07 2008
wildwoodflwr

Unless you have a yarn winder, you just roll into a ball by hand. Start with a bit of the yarn and wind it around two of your fingers for awhile. Then take that off your fingers and wind the yarn in the opposite direction (perpendicular to the way you were winding it so that you’re making a wee yarn cross) and then keep changing directions as you feel like it until it’s all wound up and you have a great big yarn ball. A pain in the rear but that’s what you have to do unless you want your hank to become a big mess.Or you could come visit me and use my winder and swift. :PPEEECCCTTTUURREEESSS lady. 😛

Leave a Reply

