Learning From Others

5 08 2008

My goats don’t like the rain. I let them out after I got back from running errands and was tending to their food, water, etc. I had to find a bigger water dish because the one we were using wasn’t cutting it.

As I was tending, it began to sprinkle the rain. It wasn’t very hard and barely noticeable, but the big billy (whom I’ve considered naming Frank) suddenly went, “MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD!!!”

You’d have thought someone yanked his private parts.

The goats came back to the pen without being herded (thank goodness!) and went into the dog house. I remembered the tarp we bought for the dog lot and went inside to get it, only to realize I’d forgotten to look for–let alone buy–something to tie the tarp down with. So I pondered a minute as to what to do. We don’t have any rope or any other means to tie down a tarp with that I knew of.

Before I could phone a friend or ask the audience, a thought hit me. I have a whole spool of cotton yarn in my stash, waiting to be used. Who do I know that’s used cotton yarn in place of ropes or other ties?

Haley-Cat! On a car bumper, no less.

So I went inside, grabbed my spool and a knife, and began tying the tarp down over the pen. Granted, it’s not in pretty little braids, but with a storm on the way, a single strand will do until I can braid some to use later this evening.

Way to go, Haley, for inspiring other yarn crafters to put their fibers to work!

Cross-posted to my LJ.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 08 2008
wildwoodflwr

LOL!! Way to go Team Jan! I only used a braid on the car because we’re driving it and the braid made the strands stronger. For tying down goat protection, I bet single strands will hold up fantastically!Crafters to the rescue!

5 08 2008
wildwoodflwr

LOL!! Way to go Team Jan! I only used a braid on the car because we’re driving it and the braid made the strands stronger. For tying down goat protection, I bet single strands will hold up fantastically!Crafters to the rescue!

Leave a Reply

