Feeling Up For Adventure!

12 08 2008

I’m really wanting to try my hand at dying my own yarn. I’ve got one small ball of white cotton in my stash. I know Wal-Mart has white wool in stock. It’s all in worsted weight, which does nothing for my sudden facination of fingering weight. Oh well, we shall see.

I’ve also got four boxes of Jell-O mix in cherry and orange. I could make some awesome Halloween yarn! 😀

What’s really funny is that once again, I’m getting waaaaaaaaay ahead of myself. There is a lot of room for disaster and oppertunity to ruin my pretty white yarn… but it was a gift from my BBQ Swap partner (intended for the crocheted apron pattern she sent me), so it’s not like I’m putting an expensive skein of baby alpacha on the line here.

We shall see. *twiddles fingers mischeviously* Oh yes, we may see indeed. Tomorrow is a long day with no plans and lots of time unsupervized. ^_^

Edit 1: Apparently, I need sugar-free Jell-O. *gurrr* Foiled again!

Edit 2: AH-HA!!! This daring crafter boldy went where no one else bothered to post about! Sugar free just rinses better and doesn’t affect the dying process. Mwahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!

Edit 3: After further reading, I’ve cooled my jets and have decided to wait until I 1) get wool yarn of some sort, 2) get some RIT dye, or 3) all of the above. Besides, I like the idea of making a Halloween-themed skein of yarn. I’ll need a pattern to use it with, though… hmmmmmm… *runs back to Ravelry*

Edit 4: I now drool over peachy colored yarns. ❤ Orange is lovely, too.

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 08 2008
wildwoodflwr

LOL! Fun! You can also use kool-aid. I’ve heard it dyes very well. I still am not feeling the call of the dying bug. Goood luck! I expect lots of pictures.

13 08 2008
wildwoodflwr

LOL! Fun! You can also use kool-aid. I’ve heard it dyes very well. I still am not feeling the call of the dying bug. Goood luck! I expect lots of pictures.

Leave a Reply

