It Starts Tonight

13 08 2008

With the last few dollars I have in cash, I bought a skein of “Winter White” Lion Brand wool and some lemon jello (I also had to get some emergency girly items, but that’s beside the point). Winter white basically means “off-white,” and while I was wanting regular blinding white or even something less-than-worsted weight, it just wasn’t happening. :-/ I can’t complain, though… At least this Wal-Mart carries wool period.

So later today, I will begin my very first attempt at dying my yarn. I’m going for an autumn theme (rather than my dreams of a Halloween theme) by coloring it with red, orange, and yellow jello. What will I make out of this autumn themed yarn? Heck if I know. I just want to see if I can successfully dye yarn! 😀

The dyeing bug bites hard. I hope it goes well. Pictures to come as soon as possible! I’ll try to document it the best I can.

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 08 2008
wildwoodflwr

Well… super premo duper white is achieved through bleaching the fibers. If it wasn’t for bleach, white would = off-white and off-white would be like…brown. Anyway..what I’m saying here is, maybe you could bleach it to the stark white you want? You would have to wash and rinse very very well to keep from getting bleach anywhere else…and you would have to let it dry first before doing the dying. But..it’s an idea.

13 08 2008
wildwoodflwr

Well… super premo duper white is achieved through bleaching the fibers. If it wasn’t for bleach, white would = off-white and off-white would be like…brown. Anyway..what I’m saying here is, maybe you could bleach it to the stark white you want? You would have to wash and rinse very very well to keep from getting bleach anywhere else…and you would have to let it dry first before doing the dying. But..it’s an idea.

Leave a Reply

