Frank's Troubles

14 09 2008

Thursday, Frank wasn’t acting right. He was laying around, leaning against things, and had no interest in foraging with the others. He would eat his hay and grain, but that was it. Being the overly-protective Furmama that I am, I called the vet and described what was going on. The vet thought it was a bad case of worms and told me to come in and pick up some dewormer for the goats. When Larry got home, we medicated that goats and hoped for the best.

The next day, Frank was no better. He seemed worse. He staggered, his head was tilted and against his side. He would flinch when I would touch him and attempt to run away. He would barely eat and I never saw him drink. I became really worried and called the vet, who said if Frank didn’t act better to bring him in first thing in the morning. That evening, Frank’s stagger became worse. He could barely stand. I was terrified it was a vitamin B deficiency, which can kill a goat within 24-72 hours if untreated. I called the vet again, who was out of the office, and left a message.

First thing Saturday, Larry and I took Frank and the babies to the vet (the babies went to see about banding). A very long wait and long story later, the vet concluded Frank had contracted a virus through a scratch in the mouth, which then attacked his nervous system. He gave Frank three shots and gave three more to be taken today. He said Frank may or may not fully recover. He isn’t contagious and there was nothing we could have done to prevent it.

After a few hours, Frank began perking up. He was standing a bit better and wasn’t staggering as much. He would let me touch him again. His head wasn’t as cockeyed anymore. He began eating some hay. He ate some maple leafs from my hand before I went to bed. We hoped he would make it through the night.

Today, Frank is acting much better. He leans a little and his head is still a little to one side. He walks steadier and barely staggers. He’s eating hay really well, too. He’s still laying down more than usual, but not like he’s dying. It’s more like he’s really, really tired and is resting.

Earlier, he wagged his tail when he saw me coming to the pen. I nearly cried I was so happy.

He took his shots like a real trooper with little fuss. I think he knows we’re trying to help him get better. He’s still not back to his old self, but he’s recovering well. I’m so happy, and I’m so proud of him for being such a trooper, fighting this off like he is. 🙂

Frank Aaron Presley may make a full recovery yet!

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 09 2008
wildwoodflwr

I’m so glad he’s doing better!!! I was really worried about him. Well actually I was really worried about you if something might happen to him. I know how much you love your animals.

15 09 2008
wildwoodflwr

I’m so glad he’s doing better!!! I was really worried about him. Well actually I was really worried about you if something might happen to him. I know how much you love your animals.

Leave a Reply

