Little Goat Babies (Hopefully)

15 08 2009

I’ve been so busy,  I haven’t even had a chance to change my header to reflect my latest obsession: Goat babies!

A very long story short, my only pygmy doe, Zoe, was bred almost immediately after giving birth to Jesse back in March. Try as we did to prevent this from happening until fall, accidents happen, and accidents result in little goat babies due the first week of September.

Yes, I know all you potential goat owning readers. Shame on me. Spare me the lecture because I beat myself up enough about this, but the fact remains that babies are a-coming soon.

Pretty much, my life this last week has revolved around Zoe, who has started showing signs of preparing to freshen (aka give birth). I check on her 50 billion times a day, note any changes, then go back to reading everything known to mane related to goats giving birth. If something could go wrong, I want to already know how to deal with it.

This is my second kidding ever. My first was back in March with Jesse, but I’m sad to say I completely missed all the action with him. I went out to feed the goats and there were five goats instead of four. I’ve since resolved to do my best to be there for Zoe this time around. After Jesse’s birth, I had nightmares for weeks about all the things that could have gone wrong and the worst possible outcomes because I wasn’t there.

So when will Zoe freshen? No clue. She’s already showing signs, so it could be next week, next weekend, or she could drag this out until the last week of August. In the meantime, all other hobbies have been put on the back burner (some have gone into the deep freezer) until the new kid(s) arrive… then maybe a while after that because I’ll be too busy playing with little baby goats!

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 12 2009
shannon

Oh my goodness…I have been following your story on The Goat Spot and I am seriously dying to know what happened!!! Several people have posted about how they want to know, too. I find your story so interesting because my doe is possibly bred and looks exactly like yours (well, body size). Please let everyone at The Goat Spot know….someone posted that they read your blog but didn’t want to ruin the suprise—-how mean!!! lol

2 12 2009
shannon

Oh my goodness…I have been following your story on The Goat Spot and I am seriously dying to know what happened!!! Several people have posted about how they want to know, too. I find your story so interesting because my doe is possibly bred and looks exactly like yours (well, body size). Please let everyone at The Goat Spot know….someone posted that they read your blog but didn’t want to ruin the suprise—-how mean!!! lol

Leave a Reply

