Goats and Yarn

31 08 2009

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I promise, I haven’t forgotten about this blog. I’ve just been preoccupied!

Zoe  did not have any babies for me. It turns out she was having a really, really, REALLY intense heat cycle unlike any I’d ever seen before. Thanks to the help I got over at The Goat Spot, Zoe and I got through the whole ordeal in one piece. In good news, however, I now have a goat birthing kit prepared for when the blessed event does take place. Plus, now that I know she wasn’t bred back in the spring, I know I can breed her next month so we can have another March kidding! Yay!

In more recent news, I’ve decided that since my “local yarn shop” (aka Wal-Mart) no longer carries anything other than acrylic and cotton, I need to find my natural fibers elsewhere. Sadly, I can’t afford to spend lots of money on yarn online or traveling to other towns to visit real yarn shops. What’s a yarn crafter to do?

Recycle yarn, of course!

Basically, when you recycle yarn, you take an old knitted/crocheted sweater, blanket, or whatever apart and reuse the yarn you recover from it.  You can get oodles and oodles of yarn for a fraction of the price of new yarn. There’s an awesome tutorial for the entire process over here if you’re interested in learning more.

In the past, I’ve recycled yarn from an old crocheted blanket. If you want to be technical, I’m SILL recycling it. I have nearly 2000 yards of really nice acrylic yarn from only 1/4 of the blanket. How much did I spend for what may wind up being over 8k yards of yarn? A whopping $2.50. The nice acrylic at Wal-Mart will still run you about $4 a skein (about 300 +/- yards).

Today I will venture into the world of sweaters made from natural fibers. While shopping at local thrift stores, I found several that I just had to have.

The white sweater is silk/nylon/angora/lambs wool. I found it at Goodwill for $2.50. The blue-green sweater is mohair/acrylic/polyester, which technically disqualifies it as a mostly natural fiber sweater, but it’s pretty and I wanted its yarn. ^_^ How much did this one cost? Fifty cents.

The pink sweater on the far left is 100% wool. It’s a VERY bright pink and not as red as the camera makes it look. The blue sweater in the middle is silk/angora/nylon and quite possibly the softest sweater in the whole county. If it wasn’t a dopey short-sleeved sweater, I’d probably just wear it as it is… And finally, the pink sweater on the far right is 100% wool, but much softer than the pink one on the left.

All three sweaters cost fifty cents apiece.

The last sweater is a very, very… interesting… creation. It’s a hand-knitted sweater from 100% cotton (or at least it feels like cotton) in what can only be called “urban camo.” It weighs about 8 lbs, I kid you not. The poor old lady at the counter expressed a great relief because she was finally being rid of it, since it hurt her hands when she’d have to move it or rehang it somewhere. Hopefully, this sweater will be my first sweater to be recycled, hopefully to one day become a blanket for my nephew.

This 8 lb monstrosity of a man sweater cost fifty cents.

Hopefully, I will capture the entire first-attempt recycling process on camera. Hopefully, it will all go well and I will have an insane amount of yarn to add to my stash. Hopefully, I won’t screw this up and wind up with a bunch of half-shredded yarn.

Wish  me luck!

Actions

Information

6 responses

1 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

That’s a great haul!! I’ve not had much luck in recycling sweaters. I have a hard time finding good yarn blends in colors that I would actually use….since ya know, I don’t dye yarn. Yet.

I can’t wait to see how much awesome yarn you get out of these!

1 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

That’s a great haul!! I’ve not had much luck in recycling sweaters. I have a hard time finding good yarn blends in colors that I would actually use….since ya know, I don’t dye yarn. Yet.

I can’t wait to see how much awesome yarn you get out of these!

1 09 2009
Nadine B

I never find any good sweaters either. I think Jess gets to them all before us.

1 09 2009
Nadine B

I never find any good sweaters either. I think Jess gets to them all before us.

2 12 2009
shannon

OK, just went to the second page…now I am bummed (for me) because I wanted you to say she had babies. Good luck with her next time around!

2 12 2009
shannon

OK, just went to the second page…now I am bummed (for me) because I wanted you to say she had babies. Good luck with her next time around!

Leave a Reply

