Mission Accomplished

1 09 2009

I finished harvesting my yarn from the first sweater. How did it go? Let me put it this way… I wish I had a nickle for every time I became frustrated and shouted, “This thing was knitted by a crackhead!!!” I could have bought my own yarn factory.

Getting the sweater apart wasn’t too big of a deal. One snip and I was ready to take the sleeves off.

See? No big deal. I had some concerns with the seams between the arms and chest, but I’ll get to that in a minute.

I started unraveling the first sleeve. Stupid me thought, “Hey, let’s do this from the top of the sleeve!” Yeah, that worked all of like two minutes. This sleeve was done in the round–heck, all sweater sleeves might be for all I know–and this concept didn’t dawn on me for several hours. Nope, I parked my butt in front of the TV, pulling a pile of yarn carefully through a tiny loop every couple of rows.

When I got to the end of the sleeve to the cuff, it dawned on me (after about four hours of working on one sleeve) that the knitter probably started at the cuff and worked up. Boy, I felt kind of dumb…

The next sleeve was a bit easier, but let me tell you, I think the sleeves were done by different knitters. One was carefully attached to the chest part.  The other looked like my six year old niece attached it. So that was fun. At least this time, I found where the sleeve was started in the cuff and had it unraveled in mere minures. Yay!

Next came the chest. Let me show you WHY my phrase of choice was “This thing was knitted by a crackhead!!!”

Now, I don’t pretend to know much about knitting sweaters, but I’ve NEVER seen one like this. This was taken before I took the sleeves off. Who would wear a sweater with the stiff in the armpits?

Worse yet, when I was done unraveling the turtleneck and got to this part of the sweater, each strand came off in 8 yard strands. I about chucked the entire remaining sweater into the trash, but I plowed on.

See all this? That’s all 8-yard strands of yarn. Yikes. No idea what I’m going to do with this just yet. I’ll most likely offer it up on a Ravelry group, maybey Random Acts of Kindness or Yarncycle. Maybe a teacher can use it for Halloween or something.

After I got below the armpits, the yarn came easily. I harvested 522 yards from the chest alone.

Finally, I reached the corded bottom. I don’t know how on earth this thing was put together, but I finally gave up on it. It’s now two braided cat toys.

Ta-da! A total of 848 yards of yarn! Though honestly… I’m not sure if it’s cotton yarn. It kinda feels like the stuff basketball goal nets are made of… nylon, maybe? Oh well, whatever it is, it’s going to make an awesome blanket for my nephew.

One sweater down, four more to go. Boy, I wish I had a ball winder.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

That’s weird about the top. I wonder how or why that was accomplished.

Fantastic job scoring a ton of yarn for super cheap!

3 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

That’s weird about the top. I wonder how or why that was accomplished.

Fantastic job scoring a ton of yarn for super cheap!

Leave a Reply

