Ball Winding

14 09 2009

So I was thinking… before there were ball winders, there had to be other ways of balling up yarn without a $20 winder from Knit Picks. It couldn’t be too complicated of a process. After all, a ball winder is a pretty simple machine. I wondered if maybe there was a way to do it myself using only materials laying around the house.

Bless you, Google and YouTube. My dreams have come true.

After finding this tutorial, I now have reason to buy more sweaters from the Salvation Army (especially what Shetland wool sweater I was drooling over last week). I can finally take apart my angora/silk sweaters without worrying about hand balling them into literal balls. I can now–in theory, at least–make my own yarn cakes while saving up for the ball winder I’ve been wanting.

Expect pictures in the coming week or so. This week will probably be too busy for yarn… probably.

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

I hadn’t thought of a nostepinne. Good idea! I’ll be interested to see how easy/difficult it is to make a cake.

14 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

I’ve also seen swifts made out of 4 clotheshangers and a lazy susan. http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3093/3090491814_932d252d25.jpg Similar to this but with using 4 plastic clotheshangers, a box, and a lazy-susan (so it’ll spin).

14 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

I hadn’t thought of a nostepinne. Good idea! I’ll be interested to see how easy/difficult it is to make a cake.

14 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

I’ve also seen swifts made out of 4 clotheshangers and a lazy susan. http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3093/3090491814_932d252d25.jpg Similar to this but with using 4 plastic clotheshangers, a box, and a lazy-susan (so it’ll spin).

Leave a Reply

