Winding My Own Yarn Attempt #1

14 09 2009

Well… attempt #1 was almost a success. That’s been the story of my day, it seems.

My bf’s mom has a beautiful wooden paper towel holder in our closet. How it got in there is neither here nor there (aside from the fact she knows it’s there and is okay with my using it), but the roll holder looked very much like nostepinne from the tutorial mentioned in my last blog.

It was a bit nerve wracking to work with, but once I got the hang of wrapping the yarn around, it wasn’t so bad. I was constantly aggravated by two cats and three kittens fighting for my attention and batting at my yarn, however. That contributed to my partial failure.

Here is my yarn before it fell apart.

Side view… It’s not very impressive, but I was pleased I did it at all. It took about half an hour to do 300-odd yards of yarn. The fact it was brightly colored helped greatly since the roller was so dark.

Here’s the view from the top. Can you see trouble starting? In my glee, I failed to notice the yarn slipping at the top. Note to self… figure out what a 45 degree angle is and don’t just guess.

This big gaping hole left by the roller may or may not have contributed. I’m guessing not… since a ball winder is every bit as big. Isn’t it? I wouldn’t know, I’ve never seen one in real life, lol.

Yarn cake from the bottom… “Well I smell t-r-o-u-b-l-e,” as Travis Tritt would say.

Finally, the cake and the roller! (And my messy desk)

The good news is that I learned a lot from this first attempt. I know where I screwed up (like trying to rush and work in the same room with cats), I know how to fix it, and I will do just that later this evening when I’m not so busy. At least I know I can do it and not screw up too badly. I’ll keep practicing. It seems like this is something that takes proper technique and finesse of many tries.

I’ll keep you posted!

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

Yeah a ball winder leaves just as big a hole as a nostepinne does. The yarn is supposed to be fairly tightly wound so that when you pull the cake off, the ball will collapse a little (filling that hole up) and the yarn will relax some. But the trick is not to wind so tightly that you pull the elasticity right out of the yarn lol.

It looks like a great first attempt!

14 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

Yeah a ball winder leaves just as big a hole as a nostepinne does. The yarn is supposed to be fairly tightly wound so that when you pull the cake off, the ball will collapse a little (filling that hole up) and the yarn will relax some. But the trick is not to wind so tightly that you pull the elasticity right out of the yarn lol.

It looks like a great first attempt!

Leave a Reply

