Love My Nostepinne

22 09 2009

Winding my yarn with a nostepinne has been quite an adventure. I’ve spent several hours on the couch in front of the TV (usually watching Aliens or Firefly), winding my yarn. My first few attempts weren’t so great, but with each finished cake, I get a little better.

These are my first three cakes. From left to right, they are my Jell-O yarn (Lion Brand Wool), Sugar n’ Creme cotton (yikes, what a mess!), and I Love This Yarn (acrylic). You’ll have to forgive the last one. I dropped it on my way to take pictures and one of my cats thought it would be fun to see how many times he could bat it around before I caught him.

These two are my latest ones. From left to right, they are Patton’s Merino Wool and Squoosh Superwas Sock Yarn.

I was especially pleased with my Squoosh yarn because the way the yarn laid down so beautifully. Unfortunately, getting it off the nostepinne was a challenge, resulting in the core falling out on me. I rolled it up by hand so it can easily be removed from the center when I use it later on. It’s still lovely outside, but the inside… oh well.

Ta-da! I am pleased. I’m still not great at it, but I’m off to a good start, I think. At least now I know I can wind my recycled yarn without a ball winder. Or perhaps I should say “until I get a ball winder.” Using a nostepinne is great and all, but boy does it take forever!

I anticipate that next week’s hobby blog will be about knitting. I’ve been knitting from my first (slightly modified) knitting pattern, so you can look forward to seeing how that goes. Or maybe I’ll blog about reading. I’m working on my reading goals on my 101 Goals  in 1001 Days. Oh well, we’ll just wait and see! I’ll be just as surprised as you are!

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

Your yarn cakes are looking better all the time!

I finally found that swift from clotheshangers tutorial I was looking for for you! It’s here http://webeccasays.blogspot.com/2008/05/tilta-swift.html

30 09 2009
wildwoodflwr

Your yarn cakes are looking better all the time!

I finally found that swift from clotheshangers tutorial I was looking for for you! It’s here http://webeccasays.blogspot.com/2008/05/tilta-swift.html

Leave a Reply

