A Job in Photography?

5 10 2009

As you may have guessed, all my hobbies have recently come to a grinding halt. A photographer’s position opened up locally, so I decided to apply. I spent a long time researching the position and how to present myself at the interview. I had to pretty much relearn everything I thought I knew about job interviews. Okay, it wasn’t that drastic, but I did have to step out of my comfort level a little.

The hardest part of preparing for the interview was compiling a small portfolio. Since it wasn’t a professional position, I didn’t need a terribly expensive portfolio or 8×10 copies of my work. Many photographers I spoke with insisted I didn’t need to even bother compiling a portfolio. I decided it was best to be overly prepared than to be unprepared. I selected 20 of my best works and placed them in the portfolio.

At the open interview, of the four ladies I saw, I was the only one with a resume, let alone a portfolio. The interviewer was impressed with my work. Today I heard back from her. Pending pay negotiations, I may be their new photographer. Yay!

“Lonely”

I should hear back in a couple of days about the job. The lady really seemed as though she wanted to hire me on, and I’m hoping everything works out.  I’d really like to work there, so wish me lots of luck!

Tune in next time when I talk about my knitting and yarn recycling adventures.

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 10 2009
wildwoodflwr

I really hope this works out for you! It sounds like an awesome job.

6 10 2009
wildwoodflwr

I really hope this works out for you! It sounds like an awesome job.

6 10 2009
Justin

Congrads Jan!

Leave a Reply

