An Overdue Update

29 10 2009

My life since my last post has been very hectic. I got the job. I didn’t get the job. Then I got it again. It was an emotional roller coaster with a happy ending. I’m now learning the first steps in professional photography. It’s not a glamorous job, but it’s the first steps into a world I’ve always admired.

Yesterday, I was set loose with the camera (Cannon Rebel XTI), the props, lighting, everything the studio has to offer for an entire 30 minutes… and it was only my second day! I’m learning new things every single day, especially about working with really small children.

While I can’t post pictures from work, I will say this… Portrait studios have come a long way since I was young. They may not be the quality of an independent studio you might find elsewhere, but for what we have and what we can do, it’s not too shabby. I’m really excited about going to work and learning more. The work isn’t without its hair-pulling aspects, but I get to take pictures all day! I get to talk about pictures all day! I’m learning every single day about photography! Yay!

The Christmas picture season is about to kick off, so I expect to have little time for my hobbies between now and New Years. I will, however, post whenever I can and whatever I’m up to. In the meantime, go check out my friend Justin’s photography blog. He’s an awesome photographer with a good eye for what I like to think of as “overlooked beauty.” Even the disgruntled clown pictures have an aspect of unexpected beauty to them.

With that, I must leave for work. 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

