Change of Views

25 08 2010

I’m currently reading Messenger by Lois Lowry. For those who don’t know, it’s a sort-of sequel to The Giver, which was one of my favorite books in middle school. I always hated that there was no real ending to Jonas’s story. Messenger at least gives the reader an idea of what became of him and Gabe.

Though I’m not done yet, I have to say that Messenger has already had a profound impact on my thoughts on illegal immigrants. I’m sure that was partially the intent of this book. I’m still not happy with the fact illegal immigrants are here illegally, but my heart has definitely softened. But what other choice to some of them have?

It will be a topic for another day, perhaps.

I’m still unsure as to whether Messenger will be as big of a favorite as The Giver, but I am enjoying it. I’m looking forward to reading Gathering Blue, which was technically supposed to be read before Messenger, but I cheated. I wanted to know what happened to Jonas and Gabe more than I cared about reading in order.

Next time, I will have a better review of Messenger. Until then, dear readers.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

