Sunday Six

6 03 2011

This winter has been exceptionally harsh. I haven’t felt like updating over here in a long time, though my sporadic hobbies continue. Over the last few weeks, I was trying to rip apart a sweater, but that isn’t going so well. Instead, I’m refocusing on my writing. A few nights ago, I actually *gasp* WROTE STUFF DOWN!!! I’m as shocked as you are, believe me. I wrote 480 words, which is 480 more words than I’ve written in the last *mumble* years combined as far as non-school related writing goes.

Now I’m feeling a bit more confident in my writing. Who am I kidding? I wouldn’t share those 480 words with anyone right now. I started writing at one in the morning while fighting sleep. I haven’t even opened the document since I saved it because I don’t want to know just how rough my rough draft really is.

In hopes of building real writing confidence, I’ve decided to bite into the “Six Sentence Sunday” thing. A friend of mine has been doing this for the last few weeks over on her writing blog, and it’s really helped her out, especially when trying to write her troublesome ending. I figure if it worked for her, maybe it will help me out. If nothing else, it might motivate me to at least write something once a week.

So without further ado, I bring you an oldie-but-revised-y… An except from a prologue to one of my “Jade” stories:

 

The grieving mother stopped her prayers. Had she been answered so soon? Without the strength to lift her head any longer, Jade was forced to shift only her eyes in the direction of the shack’s only exit. Through her tears, she could see a tall figure in a long black coat. A sandy ponytail rested at the nape of his neck as his bizarre golden eyes darted about suspiciously.

Jade could hardly breathe a sigh of relief as she whispered, “Donavan… of all the angels, Lor has sent you.”

 

My poor prologue… it’s undergone years of revision, but I’m very proud of how it’s turned out. Sadly, I don’t know if I can still use it. Right now, I’ve abandoned my original trilogy brainchild for a “prequel,” which may or may not ever make it beyond my close circle of friends. I don’t mind, though. My mind needs to be refocused, to think these things through so my original idea will benefit from it. Once I know the origins, hopefully the rest will fall into place.

Actions

Information

One response

6 03 2011
lexcade

SQUEE!!! you’re writing!!!!!!!

I like this! Your style has definitely matured over the years. You better keep writing, darnit!

Leave a Reply

