Sceneshot Sunday: Issue #1

27 03 2011

While many writers are taking place in the Sunday Six Challenge, I am once again going against the grain and blazing my own trail. I tried doing the Sunday Six, but it just wasn’t working out for me. I liked the challenge, but it felt too limiting, especially for someone like me who is just coming out of a *mumble* long writing hiatus.

Instead of the Sunday Six, I present to you a little thing I call “Sceneshot Sunday.” Every Sunday that I’m not distracted by something else, I will present to you a small scene from one of my works, usually no more than a few short paragraphs. I think some people do this for “Teaser Tuesday,” but like I said, I’m a writing rebel! Phooey on the already established norms!

Last week, I had mentioned sharing the full version of Dee and Jimmy’s kiss from my “Untitled Epic Book Series,” alias “The Jade Stories.” However, I haven’t gotten around to polishing that scene just yet. Instead, here’s a scene from a work I have been polishing a little. It’s from a work-in-progress I’ve entitled “All She Has Left.”

In this scene, Grant Banner attends the wake of the husband of his old friend, Julie Wright, with whom he’s lost contact with after grad school. After five years had passed, Grant finally sees Julie for the first time as she is hiding in her bedroom, trying to escape the family and friends who filled her house with good intentions, but little privacy.

“So, um… How are you?”

Well, that was original, Banner, he winced.

Julie sniffled faintly. “I’ve been better. Things have been pretty crazy around here and… and…”

When she hesitated, Grant began to worry he’d said something to trigger even more tears. Instead crying, however, Julie finally lifted her head as she turned to face her old friend. The corners of her mouth twitched upwards in the attempt of a smile. Her eyes were red–no doubt from the last two sleepless nights–while dark circles hung like crescents beneath her eyes. Her hair was pulled back into a single braid that missed her waist by mere centimeters. The black dress she wore made her face pale as milk. Make-up smeared from crying stained her cheeks, but her forest green eyes were strong and she was as beautiful as ever, but why did any of this surprise him?

“Do you want me to fix you something to eat?”

Grant couldn’t help but smile. She really hadn’t changed a bit.

Like what you’re reading? Want to stalk me? Visit me on Twitter and feel free to steal my idea for #sceneshotsunday if you’d like! Stroke my ego and let me know if you’re giving it a try. Until next time, folks!

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 03 2011
lexcade

Wow. This is great, Jan! *taps foot* and just why haven’t I seen this yet? Hmm? 😉

I like the Sceneshot Sunday idea. Maybe I’ll steal that for Facebook?

Can’t wait to read more next week!

27 03 2011
Jan C.

That’d be awesome! I can’t wait to see!

2 04 2011
lexcade

yay! then i shall start. sunday. if i remember. 😀

Leave a Reply

