Baking Adventures

8 07 2011

My poor little hobby blog has been severely neglected. Pre-nursing classes will do that, though. When I do have free time, I spend it baking. I’ve found that I kind of rock at baking, especially muffins and other sweet breads. Today, I baked Pineapple Bread! However, the comments on this recipe had lots of different tips about making the bread better than the original. Here is my final recipe:

Ingrediants

2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 can (20 oz) of crushed pineapple (I used pineapple rings ran through a blender)
1 tsp vanilla  extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
1tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F
  2. Because I lacked crushed pineapple, I drained one can of pineapple rings (save the juice!!!) and pureed them in a blender. Set aside until Step #4
  3. In a medium sized bowl, beat eggs. Add butter and sugar, then beat until smooth
  4. Mix in pineapple and vanilla extract.
  5. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt
  6. Stir wet ingredients into the large bowl
  7. Pour batter into a greased pan. I used a bread pan.
  8. Bake at 350 F for 55 minutes
  9. Remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. Use a butter knife to loosen the sides.
  10. Cool and wrap
Pineapple bread unglazed(Click for larger image)
The bread is more cake-like than anything, but really good. I added some glaze to make it more interesting and it turned out amazingly well, in my opinion.
~*~
Highly Recommended Pineapple Glaze
1/2 cup butter
2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
6+ tbs crushed pineapple (I opened a new can to do the glaze)
4+ tbs pineapple juice
  1. Because I lacked powdered sugar, I ran granulated sugar through the blender 1/2 cup at a time. I also combined the 1/2 cup brown sugar (I ran out of white and had to substitute) and 1/2 cup of white sugar in the blender.
  2. Cream butter and sugar until well blended
  3. Stir in pineapple and pineapple juice to taste
  4. Do not add to bread until it is out of the pan. Spread liberally all over the top of the bread.
  5. Wait about 5 minutes for it to cool.
  6. Slice bread and enjoy!
Pineapple bread glazed
~*~
Pineapple bread glazed
It’s okay to be jealous, but you could always make your own. This is a seriously easy recipe and I encourage everyone to give it a try. Feel free to pass along this recipe, too! Linking back here would be really awesome, though. I’m kind of an attention fiend like that. 😉
Eat up and enjoy!
Actions

Information

2 responses

8 07 2011
lexcade

oh my God that sounds amazing. i’ll have to make some soon.

8 07 2011
Jan C.

It tastes absolutely heavenly! With the glaze, it’s sweet with a bit of maple and pineapple… It sounds nasty when you write it out like that, but it’s really good!

Leave a Reply

